Getting a License and the Laws for New Drivers
As a teen, getting your driver’s license is a rite of passage. While this is true, it doesn’t mean that it isn’t a scary and intimidating process for many.
One of the best ways to eliminate some stress is by knowing what to expect from the process and what laws you must follow. It’s also helpful to know that if you are ever involved in a car accident, a Tampa personal injury lawyer, like our team at Pardy & Rodriguez P.A., is available to help and ensure your rights are protected.
However, before getting into an accident, you have to get your license. Keep reading to learn the process and the important laws you need to know.
Steps to Acquire a Florida Driver’s License
The steps you take to get your Florida driver’s license depend on your age and if you have ever had a license in the past.
For individuals under the age of 18, the first step is to get your learner’s permit. To get this license, you must pass a series of tests, which include:
- Vision and hearing test (given at the DMV)
- Road rules and road signs test
- Traffic law and substance abuse education course
Also, when you apply to get your learner’s permit, you have to provide the following:
- Proof of passing the D.A.T.A course
- Parental consent form
- Proof of identity
It’s important to note that getting your learner’s permit doesn’t mean you have free reign to drive and go as you place. There are specific rules and laws you are expected to follow.
Rules for Driving with a Learner’s Permit
To avoid issues while you have your learner’s permit, you must follow these rules:
- Always have a licensed driver in the front passenger seat who is 21 years or older.
- For the initial three months after receiving the permit, you may only drive during daylight hours.
- After three months, you can drive between 6:00 AM and 10:00 PM (with the above-mentioned licensed driver).
In Florida, individuals at least 16 years old and who have had their learner’s permit for 12 months with no traffic convictions can receive their intermediate license. If you receive a traffic ticket in this initial 12-month period while you have your learner’s permit, you can enroll in traffic school to avoid being convicted.
To apply for the intermediate license in Tampa, you must have:
- Learner’s permit (from Florida)
- Guardian who confirms you have driven for a minimum of 50 hours with 10 hours of driving time at night
- Pass the driving test given at the DMV
What Is Required to Take the Driving Skills Road Test?
When it is time for your driving skills road test, you need to bring an insured vehicle to the office. The DMV does not provide vehicles for you to take your test in. Also, you must provide proof of active insurance before the test begins.
Once you receive your intermediate license, the restrictions you must abide by depending on your age.
Rules for Driving with an Intermediate License
- You can drive at any time, regardless of age, with an intermediate license if you have a licensed driver who is 21 or older in the front seat with you.
- For 16-year old’s, you can drive unsupervised between the hours of 6 AM and 11 PM.
- For 17-year old’s, you can drive unsupervised between the hours of 5 AM and 1 AM.
After you turn 18, the restrictions on your provisional license are removed, and you have the full privilege of an “adult” driver’s license.
Scheduling an Appointment to Acquire Your Florida’s Driver’s License
It’s best to make an appointment at the local DHSMV office. While you are on the phone with the office, be sure that you let the person know exactly what license you need, so they know if you must take the driving test or not.
Keep in mind that COVID-19 restrictions may also impact your time at the office. For example, parents may not be allowed in the building, or face coverings may be required. It’s a good idea to find out about these restrictions before your appointment.
Getting Your First Florida Driver’s License
After passing the required tests and providing all the needed documentation, you will receive your driver’s license. Keep the restrictions mentioned above based on your age and the type of license you receive.
Staying Safe While on the Road
The state of Florida is a great place to live. Unfortunately, it is also home to some of the most dangerous roads in the country. If you are involved in a car accident, don’t hesitate to call a Tampa personal injury lawyers for assistance. Our team at Pardy & Rodriguez P.A. are here to help and protect your rights. To schedule a free initial consultation, call us at (407) 890-892